Office of the Mayor Dennis Portra (406) 769-2621 Town of Bainville

PO Box 92 Bainville, MT 59212 <u>Townofbainville@live.com</u> Councilperson: Matt Giese, Scott Ross Mandy Hickel Town Clerk Nikki Rogers, CMC

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC

At the September 11, 2017 town council meeting, the council voted to adopt a resolution cancelling the November 7, 2017 General Election of certain officers. Resolution 154 language is as follows:

WHEREAS, HB 447 passed by the 2017 Legislature (Chapter 174, Laws 2017) authorizes a municipality to cancel a general election for the election of a municipal officer by resolution after notification by the election administrator if the number of candidates filing for election is equal or less than the number of persons to be filled; and

WHEREAS, by letter dated September 7, 201 7, the Town of Bainville received noticed by the Roosevelt County Election Administrator that the following elected municipal officer positions are eligible for cancellation: Mayor, and 2-Alderman; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 13-1-403, as amended by HB 83 (Chapter 242, Laws 2017), provides that a declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate must be filed with the election administrator by 5 p.m. on the 65th day before the date of the election, or September 5, 2017;

WHEREAS, as of September 5, 2017, the following municipal officer positions remain eligible for cancellation: Mayor, and 2-Alderman.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

1. The Town of Bainville cancels the November 7, 2017 general election for the following municipal officer positions: Mayor, and 2-Alderman.

2. The following persons are hereby elected to the following municipal officer positions by acclamation:

Mayor	Dennis Portra
Alderman	Mandy Hickel
Alderman	Ronald P. Butikofer

Please note: The term for Dennis Portra and Ronald P. Butikofer will be January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2021. Mandy Hickel's term will be from January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2019

If you have any questions, please feel free to call the office.